Falsely accused of indecency with a child? Here’s what you should do

Living, working, or interacting with children is a fun and rewarding experience. However, it’s possible that you might be falsely accused of committing indecency with a child by contact later on. It could either be intentionally done or based on errors. This is likely to happen when another person misinterprets an adult-child relationship. It could also be the result when someone lies about it.

 

 

indecency with a child by contact

 

 

Whatever the reasons are, false accusations are detrimental to the accused. It is a very serious matter and warrants heavy penalties under Texas law. If you have been falsely accused of committing indecency with a child, here are the steps you can do to help clear your name.

 

What is indecency with a child?

 

Before you start to take any steps, it’s important to know what you’re falsely accused of.

 

Indecency with a child by contact happens when a person engages in any sexual contact with a child younger than 17 years of age. Such contact includes any touching of the anus, breasts, or genitals with the intent of arousing or gratifying one’s sexual desire.

 

It is also considered committing indecency with a child by exposure when a person exposes one’s anus or genitals, knowing that the child is present with the intent to arouse one’s self sexually. Exposing the child’s anus or genitals to arouse one’s sexual desire is also considered as such.

 

Are you aware of the penalties for indecency with a child in Texas?

 

Being falsely accused of such crime is extremely serious in Texas. Indecency with a child by contact a second-degree felony, and if convicted, the person could serve 2 to 20 years in prison. Convicted persons and those placed under probation have to register as a sex offender for the rest of their life as well.

 

On the other hand, indecency with a child by exposure is considered a third-degree felony. If convicted, the person could serve 2 to 10 years in prison plus fines. Convicted persons and those placed under probation must register as a sex offender for 10 years in Texas.

 

What to do if you are falsely accused of indecency with a child?

 

If you have been wrongly accused of committing such a crime, it’s important to remain calm and rational. Follow these steps:

 

  • Avoid making any statements or engagements with your accuser. Even if they are someone you know, a law enforcer, an investigator, or any person with authority. Tell them that you don’t want to discuss the matter until you have spoken to your attorney or gotten legal advice.
  • Contact an attorney specializing in sex crimes defense. These lawyers are experts at handling cases like aggravated sexual assault violent offense. Your attorney will advise you on what you should and shouldn’t do. They will also speak on your behalf in case anyone tries to communicate with you regarding the false accusation.
  • Create a list of possible witnesses who can testify your relationship with the alleged victim. Obtain their contact information so they can help you prove that you didn’t commit continuous sexual abuse of a child.
  • Gather any evidence that could justify your relationship with the alleged victim. Whether it’s physical evidence (e.g. photos, videos, objects) or documents (e.g. letters, records, certificates), it’s important to preserve anything under your possession.

 

Serious problems like being falsely accused of indecency with a child require serious lawyers. The Law Office of Paul Schiffer Law houses the best aggravated sexual assault lawyer Houston has and can help you build your defense. Contact them today or visit their website for more information.